This and That *ramble ramble*

These days when you want to express something on the web or share something interesting, there appear to be a LOT of ways. For instance, among my friends, facebook seems to be a very permeating phenomenon.

Self styled web 2.0 elitists like me though give vent to all feelings and share information on almost all famous sites. The reason? It is a complicated one but what other job have I, lying down on the bed at 3 in the night and using the wordpress app to do what this post is describing.

But I digress as usual. The reason all elitists use all the networks possible is threefold.

The first – we don’t know which of these sites will survive the test of time (relates to very very bad pun if you’ve just spent the evening seeing PoP:SoT). Each of these sites has very high potential but no one is ever sure which is the best of them. For instance, Yahoo! has damn near died even though it had major hype for quite some years. For web visionaries (I’m starting to become delusional giving myself all these weird names, I swear), none of these are the ultimate social networking sites while all of them put together are.

The second reason – loss of information. The web has also become a major storage house of personal media and information. The very thought of losing any of this information gives some people the creeps. This is a branch off from reason 1 since dying company ==> loss of information. I personally trust google to never clear it’s storage banks (which contains MOST of my digital online data).

The third reason – being hip and happening. There are times when the newest start ups catch on so soon that people are amazed by it. The ones who were with the service from the start become these undesignated yet unanimously anointed “pro members” kinda users and get this fan following. Say what you want but having a web following is something else when you realise that the guy or chic who is admiring your work is from another part of the world 🙂

In my case, I have only few services I use to share feelings, links, info and all that – twitter, facebook, google buzz and wordpress.

Facebook and wordpress are obvious candidates. Twitter and Google Buzz is redundant usage since both are micro blogging sites. So redundant that my accounts in both sites are connected. What I post in one place, goes to the other which saves me unwanted trouble with copying pasting and all that. One of the two can survive.

Twitter is the pioneer. I cannot say whether it’s good or bad since whatever they do is the first thing ever of that kind in microblogging. So yeah, they have high chances of surviving. Google Buzz was a new startup and they started promoting the service in a revolutionary way (typical google). They provided mobile users with location based services and the ability to simply post online with a photo and all that on the go. All other social networks caught on a little later to this concept.

Social networks intrigue me a lot. As I said before, I’ve always believed one of the greatest goals of techonology was building the perfect social network (apart from solving multi dimensional equations, invent time travel, find the theory of everything and all that).

Anyway, typing on the phone is pretty cool (what with my supremely modded fyodor ROM and all that) but it’s getting painful. So yeah … adios!

3 responses to “This and That *ramble ramble*

  1. Google Scholar would be a better choice for me … Research papers in simple language. What more could I ask for?

Leave a Reply

